When You Need A Break From Facebook: Temporarily Deactivating Your Social Media Account

Facebook has more than two billion active users on a monthly basis, but every now and then, a person may decide that deleting their account is the right thing to do.

If you want to deactivate your account on Facebook but keep Messenger, there are several things you need to do before going through with the process.

Be sure to attain an offline copy of your information. Visit the General Account Settings, press the Start My Archive button to download the information. You’ll need to retype your password and wait for the email. Once you get the email, it can take up to 20 minutes for a 90MB archived file. The information will contain everything you put up, not including tagged photos of you.

To ensure everything goes smoothly, you need to disconnect all devices from the account by logging out. Facebook is linked to many log-in websites, which can affect the deactivation process. You may have to wait to start the downloading process. You may also need to manually deactivate your account – Messenger included.

If you’re not sure how many apps are using your Facebook account, you may want to visit the Settings page to find this out and remove the services.

If you’re managing a group or page, they will no longer be controllable. It would also be wise to let people know what you’re doing. If you’re an admin on any Pages or Groups, you need to hand the torch over to someone else. Choose an admin you trust.

If you do advertising, you need to visit the Ads Manager Account and pay it off before letting another person control it. You need to disable your advertising information by going to Your Information and visiting the Ad Settings category.

Bear in mind that deleting your account is permanent. Therefore, if you want to come back a little later, you can deactivate it temporarily. Just go to Settings and hit Manage Account. From there, you’ll need to choose Deactivate Your Account. Everything is preserved on the social media’s server, and your profile will disappear. You can still use the various Facebook-offered services.

How much time takes before the deletion is permanent. It can take up to 90 days. Once deleted, the Messenger account also become inactive. The account will no longer be visible to friends, and reactivation doesn’t happen until you sign back in.

Facebook suggests people think twice before they delete their account, as once the deletion process starts, there’s no going back.